Catholic Central

Catholic Central Shamrocks

1959, 1961, 1968, 1974, 1994, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2009, 2010, 2014

Through the years, Catholic Central Varsity Hockey program has produced many outstanding student athletes representing the fine tradition of this program and institution. To date, Catholic Central has 14 MHSAA Division 1 State Hockey titles and have been ranked the number one high school in the country three times: 1997, 1999 and 2000.

Coach Danny Veri along with assistant coaches Gordie St. John, Mark Johnson, Ricky Buttery and Tom Nugent have the responsibility of teaching these young hockey players how to play the game with Goodness, Discipline and Knowledge, which is part of the Catholic Central tradition.


Currently three players from the CC program have graduated to the professional level:


Player Team League
David Moss Calgary Flames NHL
Jared Ross Philiadelphia Flyers NHL
Nathan Perkovich Lowell Devils AHL


The following is an Alumni Update:

College - Division I and III


Chad Wilhelm Plymouth State College   Eric Giosa Sacred Heart
Tim Buttery Michigan State University   Brandon Naurato University of Michigan
Mike Porter  Michigan State University   Nathan Perkovich Lake Superior State University 
Chris Morelli  Wayne State University   Dan Barczuk  Lake Superior State University 
Matt Modelski  Yale    Bryan Hogan  University of Michigan
Brad Holland  Sacred Heart   Dan Naurato  University of Connecticut
Keith Rowe  Alabama Huntsville    Billy Burns  Trinity College 
Jared Ross  Alabama Huntsville    Harrison Niemann Stevens Point 
Jeff Prough Brown   Joe Moreau, Jr. Marian 
David Moss  University of Michigan   Ryan Yost  Stonebridge 
Scott Curtin Middlebury   Matt Van Heest Lake Forest College
Todd Bentley Alabama Huntsville    Ricky Marnon York University
Brandon Kaleniecki University of Michigan   Ben Dunne St. Mary's, MN
Brett John Western Michigan University   Eric Hawkins Lake Forest College
Andrew Eggert University of Notre Dame      


Junior A Programs


Zack Cisek Brent Darnell Jeremy Christopher Travis Hamway
Jake Downing Nickolas Gatt Greg Merrill Peter Pfeffer
Eric Fragoso Steven Hensley Douglas Raymond Andrew Duff
Austin Hervey Tyler Marble Chad & Brad Wilhelm Michael Evens
Ian Jacobs Kyle Nelson Ross Tashjian Derick Genrich
Davey Middleton Mike Szuma Pat Coldren Steve Nelson
Ryan Obuchowski Tony Thomas  John Perkovich  Eric Reinhardt
Jimmy Peplinski Michael Bourgon  Brab Karabelski Eric Bratcher
Chris Waterstreet C J Pobur Jim Spiewak  Jimmy Blanchard 


CC's Mr. Hockey Award Winners


1997 Scott Curtin
1999 Keith Rowe
2003 Andrew Eggert
2001 Jared Ross


The 2013 - 2014 season ended with with the most dominating championship performance in the long and storied history of Shamrock hockey, and the 2014 - 2015 season will be no different. Bring the family to watch the dedication and hard work given every night by the interscholastic athletes and their coaches.