Michigan Interscholastic Hockey League

Choose a league

Please wait, loading games...
There was an error loading games...
No games scheduled.

Home Page

MHSAA Hockey Championships




Corporate Sponsor of the MIHL Prep Hockey Showcase


Loading graphic Loading Standings...
Loading graphic Loading Standings...


14 Years of High School Hockey Excellence

The Michigan Interscholastic Hockey League (MIHL) was formed prior to the 1999 - 2000 Michigan High School Athletic Association hockey (MHSAA) season with the stated goals of promoting quality high school hockey, good sportsmanship and player development. So far, the league has been very successful in obtaining its goals. Since its inaugural season the league has accounted for 21 MHSAA State Championships, the average penalty minutes per game is the lowest in the state and several players from the league have continued their hockey careers at the junior hockey level, at the collegiate level (21+ Division I college players) and a few (15) have made it to the professional level. In the 2000 – 2001 season all three state championships came from the MIHL – Division I – Catholic Central, Division II – Grosse Pointe North and Division III - Cranbrook.

The founding schools were Birmingham Brother Rice, Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook Kingswood, Detroit Catholic Central and Port Huron Northern. Expansion came quickly with Grosse Pointe North joining the league in the 2000-2001 season and University of Detroit Jesuit being added in the 2002-2003 season. De La Salle came into the fold in the 2007-2008 season. The league expanded to eight teams with the addition of Orchard Lake St. Mary's in 2010. The latest round of expansion included Trenton High School, a storied program and no stranger to the MIHL teams, and Wyandotte High School fresh off their first MHSAA Division II Championship.

MIHL State Championships

Year  Division School Coach
2000 I Catholic Central Gordon St. John
  III Cranbrook Andy Weidenbach
2001 I Catholic Central Gordon St. John
  III Grosse Pointe North Scott Lock
  III Cranbrook Andy Weidenbach
2002 I Catholic Central Gordon St. John
      Todd Johnson
  II Grosse Pointe North Scott Lock
2003 I Catholic Central Gordon St. John
      Todd Johnson
2004 III Cranbrook Andy Weidenbach
2005 I Catholic Central Gordon St. John
      Todd Johnson
  II Brother Rice Lou Schmidt, Jr.
2006 III Cranbrook Andy Weidenbach
2007 III Cranbrook Andy Weidenbach
2009 I Catholic Central Todd Johnson
  III Cranbrook Andy Weidenbach
2010 I Catholic Central Todd Johnson
  III Cranbrook Andy Weidenbach
2012 II Brother Rice Lou Schmidt, Jr.
2013 III Cranbrook Andy Weidenbach
2014 I Catholic Central Doug Itami
  II Trenton Mike Turner


MIHL Mr. Hockey Award Winners
2001   Jared Ross   Catholic Central
2002   Johnny Kim   Cranbrook
2002   Will Wallace   Cranbrook
2003   Andrew Eggert   Catholic Central
2005   Chase Langlais   Cranbrook
2007   Andrew Miller   Cranbrook
2012   Mackenzie MacEachern   Brother Rice

USA TODAY ALL-USA Boys Ice Hockey Team - 2014

Coach of the Year - Mike Turner, Trenton High School

Third Team Forward - Christopher Brown, Cranbrook

Loading graphic Loading Scoring Leaders...
Loading graphic Loading Goalie Leaders...